An e-book bargain-Crombie

Where Memories LieI love the Duncan Kincaid/Gemma Jones series.  It began with A Share in Death (1993) and there are now eighteen books in all.  I have enjoyed every one.  Where Memories Lie is from 2008.  The books are best read in order, because of the relationships between characters, but you can start anywhere.  As I read this in ’08, I will borrow a summary from Goodreads.

“Erika Rosenthal has always been secretive with her friend and neighbor, Detective Inspector Gemma James, about her past, except for one telling detail: She and her long-dead husband, David, came to London as refugees from Nazi Germany. But now the elderly woman needs Gemma’s help. A unique piece of jewelry stolen from her years ago has mysteriously turned up at a prestigious London auction house. Erika believes the theft may be tied to her husband’s death, which had always been assumed a suicide.

Gemma has a tough challenge. She must navigate the shadowy and secretive world of London’s monied society to discover the jewelry’s connection to David’s murderer. However, the cold case needs to be put back on the books and possibly into the hands of her partner, Duncan Kincaid. When a second, present-day murder kicks the investigation into high gear, Gemma becomes more determined to exact justice for Erika in a case that will have lasting repercussions.”

If you have not read this author’s novels, you are in for a real treat!  I am always eagerly awaiting the next book by Deborah Crombie.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s