Today’s e-book bargains

The great e-book bargains just keep coming.  I truly enjoyed Dear Mrs. Bird and will reprint my review below.  You cannot go wrong with Agatha Christie and/or P.D. James if you are a mystery fan. Maeve Binchy provides the best sort of comfort reading while Lisa Jewell is becoming a master at suspense.  Manhattan Beach got good reviews and The Room on Rue Amelie sounds intriguing.  Enjoy!

Dear Mrs. Bird is an engaging and warm first novel. Readers who enjoyed The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society are almost certain to rate this book highly.

Mrs. Bird is an out of touch editor at a woman’s magazine during WW II who is responsible for the agony column. Sadly, she deems most letters “unsuitable” for answering. Enter Emmy; young, naive, and trying to cope with bombs and disasters in London. She begins to answer letters as Mrs. Bird and… you need to read the book to learn what happens. This novel at first seemed like it would be light but it has substance. Themes of love, friendship and how to relate to others all have their place. I highly recommend Dear Mrs. Bird! I would like to write her a fan letter.

Thanks for this read NetGalley.

 

Manhattan Beach: A NovelDear Mrs. Bird: A NovelThe Room on Rue AmélieWatching You: A NovelSparkling Cyanide

A Certain JusticeA Week in Winter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s