e-book bargains: Steiner and Douglas/A thrilling Friday

Missing, Presumed: A Novel (Manon Bradshaw Book 1)Loads of praise below for the first in this series.  I loved this suspense novel.  The character of Manon is very well developed.  I read this a while ago so don’t recall all the details but it has to do with a missing girl.  I also read the second in the series and enjoyed that as well.

A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.”—Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer

“Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw’s biting wit is a bonus.”The Wall Street Journal

Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.”Redbook

“A highly charismatic and engaging story.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”Booklist

Local Girl Missing: A Novel by [Douglas, Claire]Another thriller but I have not as yet read this one.  It is supposed to be good.

“Secrets hide behind secrets as Douglas slowly peels back the layers…Local Girl Missing had a supple, twisty shape and a sense of menace that never flags.” (New York Times Book Review)

“Claustrophobic, twisty, creepy and dark, Local Girl Missing explores what happens when the discovery of some human remains opens up a cold case in an off-season seaside town. Narrator Francesca is forced to face up to a childhood she fled long ago, and confront uncomfortable truths about who she and the people she grew up amongst really are. It will keep you guessing right to the last page.” (Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s