Know your sisters: The Moon Sister by Riley

The Moon Sister: A Novel (The Seven Sisters)The Moon Sister

I have truly enjoyed every book in the Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley.  The Moon Sister is book five.  I am sad that there can only be two more to come.  In fact, I read this book slowly as I wanted to savor it and make it last as long as possible.

This entry tells the story of Tiggy.  It takes place in Scotland, Spain, South America, New York and Switzerland.  As is true for each novel in the series, there are dual story lines.  Tiggy’s story takes place in the present while the past story line is about Tiggy’s birth family.  Both stories are compelling.

In the present the reader follows Tiggy as she tries to make sense of her life and gifts, especially a talent for caring for and healing animals.  There is romance for her as well.

The past story is about Tiggy’s birth mother, Lucia, and her family.  They are gypsies who lived in the caves at Sacromonte, in the shadow of the Alhambra.  The culture of the people who live there is fascinating and well described.  Readers also experience the Spanish Civil War as Tiggy’s family struggles with life under a fascist regime.

From a young age, Lucia has a talent for flamenco dancing.  This will take her around the world but at some cost.  Lucia and Tiggy’s stories intersect when Tiggy meets Chilly, a man who knew Lucia’s family in Spain.

I recommend the entire series for those of you who enjoy historical novels and novels that are long enough that you can move into them for a while.  I am already looking forward to the next in the series.

You can find reviews of the earlier books by typing in seven sisters to the search box on my site.

Praise for The Moon Sister:

“[A] beautifully written series… A magical adventure.” (Woman’s World Magazine)

A breathtaking adventure brimming with cruelty, tragedy, passion, obsession and, most of all, the music, rhythm and spirit of Spain’s gitano community… There is a real fire to this exciting new chapter in the captivating Seven Sisters odyssey, an extraordinary sense of drawing inexorably nearer to solving the intriguing conundrum of Pa Salt’s death and the tantalising mystery of the missing sister.” (Lancashire Evening Post)

Riley’s meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background, bringing Tiggy and her Spanish birth family to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Riley’s previous novels will adore this anticipated series continuation.”  (Booklist)

Next in series…to be published in Britain in October

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s