A (pretty) cozy mystery: The Book of Candlelight by Ellery Adams

The Book of Candlelight is the third entry in this mystery series by Ellery Adams. I have enjoyed all three books. In this one, readers again spend time with the four main female characters, each of whom has a significant secret in their past. They have bonded together to provide support to each other and to their community. Chief among the protagonists is Nora who owns a bookstore. She is a bibliotherapist and readers enjoy the added bonus of learning some of her book picks.

Series do not stay stagnant, so new characters are introduced. I hope that some will reappear in the next entry. The arrival of Sheldon adds a bit of magic to life at Nora’s bookstore and in the community. There are also the new owners of an inn.

There are two murders in the novel, one of a local Cherokee potter and the other of a young man who was seeking adventure and experience in the North Carolina region where the books are set. The mystery itself has connections with the past and is well developed. However, the main delight of this series is the characters and their world.

Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this title in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s