Get to know a favorite author better: The Moment of Tenderness by Madeleine L’Engle

This book includes 18 stories written by this well-known and beloved author. The stories were compiled by Ms. L’Engle’s granddaughter so could not come with a better pedigree.
The introduction to this book is filled with insight into the author whose granddaughter knew her well. It is noted that the stories are ones that were written early in Ms. L’Engle’s career.
The first of these, The Birthday, is about a young girl who is trying to cope with the change in plans for her big day and the uncertainties of life. Readers watch as Cecily tries to understand the world around her and her place in it. They witness the insecurity that she feels and the ways in which she tries to understand the world. Religion plays a part in the story. This was written when the author was young but it is fully formed. There are anguish, existential questions and suspense contained within.
I think that this story and the others are worth reading. Even if I did not know how famous the author would become, I think that I would have been moved by some of these stories.
Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this title in exchange for an honest review.
Note: If potential readers are expecting The Wrinkle in Time, they will not find it here but they will get to spend time with an author, see her evolution and enjoy some fine stories.

From the publisher:  moment of tenderness, madeleine l'engle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s