Stay here for a while: Virgin River by Robyn Carr

Robyn Carr has written many novels that readers of women’s fiction have enjoyed; some of her books are standalones while others are parts of series.  Virgin River is the first title in this author’s longest series with twenty books in all.  Virgin River was written around 2007 but was released again to coincide with the tv series that recently came out.

The stories take place in a fictitious town where neighbors watch out for one another.  As long term readers of the series know, each book features a couple but old friends are often encountered as one moves forward with the titles.  This first book is mostly about Jack and Mel.  Jack runs the town bar and is a former marine.  Mel, a widow, is a midwife looking for a new start when she accepts a position in the town.  How will it work out?  Will she stay in Virgin River?  Will she become open to a new relationship?

Readers of genre fiction can undoubtedly guess the answers to these questions.  Still, readers may enjoy the fact that things may end well, especially in these times when life feels out of control.

Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this title in exchange for an honest review.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s