An entry in a traditional series: Puppet for a Corpse by Dorothy Simpson

Dorothy Simpson began writing her Inspector Thanet series in the 1980s; she published fifteen titles in all. Those who enjoy Ruth Rendell’s Wexford novels may, I think, want to read all of the entries in Ms. Simpson’s series as well.

Inspector Thanet is a good man. In the stories he solves murders, is involved in the lives of those who work for him, and is a good husband and father. The characters grow over time, for example, Mike who works for Thanet advances in his career and relationships over the course of the series.

In this entry, a doctor has seemingly committed suicide. What happened? Read this one to find out and then see if you want to read others in the series.

The books show their age a bit but nonetheless, I think that readers may enjoy them.

Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.

Author: joycesmysteryandfictionbookreviews

I love to read, recommend books and open the world of reading to others. I tutor to ensure that the next generation of readers will know the joys of a good book because their reading skills have improved. I am an avid reader, especially of mysteries and fiction. I believe that two of the world's greatest inventions were the public library and eyeglasses!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: