For fans of Irish crime fiction-Death at Whitewater Church and Treacherous Strand by Andrea Carter

These books have been in my TBR pile for the longest time and I have now read and very much enjoyed both of them. They have what I look for in crime fiction staring with recurring characters for whom I care. Solicitor Ben, for Benedicta, is a solicitor whose work brings her into complex situations. She can never resist becoming involved in these. Ben also has a backstory that greatly impacts her. She is surrounded by many others including Leah who works with her and one of the police officers in particular. Hints of a romance with Thomas are definitely there. There are other recurring characters as well including Ben’s close friend Maeve and a bookstore owner.

Each novel has a a strong sense of place, going from a small town to the more desolate waters, from offices to pubs and to homes and more included deserted churches and building sites. The locations are integral to the story.

Then, of course, there are murders and what led to them. Each case is sufficiently complex to engage the reader.

Look for plot summaries of these novels on your favorite website. I think that they will engage you.

I can’t wait to keep reading in this series. Books 3 and 4 have been published and the 5th comes out later this year, in November.

I recommend getting to know Ben. Let me know your thoughts. Have you read this series?

Author: joycesmysteryandfictionbookreviews

I love to read, recommend books and open the world of reading to others. I tutor to ensure that the next generation of readers will know the joys of a good book because their reading skills have improved. I am an avid reader, especially of mysteries and fiction. I believe that two of the world's greatest inventions were the public library and eyeglasses!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: