Entertain some kids: Tales of Whimsy, Verses of Woe

by Tim DeRoche, Daniel González

#whimsyandwoe #NetGalley

This collection has the potential to turn kids who turn up their noses at poetry into poetry fans. The works included here are unique, sometimes odd and often funny. They are accompanied by cartoon-like illustrations. Most kids are sure to chuckle at ntries such as The One Man Band.

This title is definitely worth a look.

Many thanks to NetGalley and Redtail Press for this title. All opinions are my own.

Pub date: January 24, 2023

Advance Praise

“This illustrated collection of verse indulges in fairy-tale absurdity and is sufficiently zany to have children and adults squealing with glee… A rare work of pure, unbridled fun.”
— Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Amusing, campy, gorgeously illustrated, and generously preposterous, DeRoche’s collection is a worthy addition to any middle-schooler’s bookshelf. Great for fans of Shel Silverstein and Lemony Snicket.”
— Publishers Weekly BookLife Reviews, “Editors’ Pick”

Author: joycesmysteryandfictionbookreviews

I love to read, recommend books and open the world of reading to others. I tutor to ensure that the next generation of readers will know the joys of a good book because their reading skills have improved. I am an avid reader, especially of mysteries and fiction. I believe that two of the world's greatest inventions were the public library and eyeglasses!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: